About the Blogger

David Logan's picture

David Logan served as Dean at Roger Williams School of Law from 2003 to 2014, making him one of the nation's longest-serving law deans. In 2014, he returned to full-time teaching and research.

A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, Professor Logan clerked for a federal...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

David Logan's Post

Alums in the Legislature and Scholarship Winners Feted at Annual Meeting

Posted by David Logan on 07/15/2009 at 12:00 AM

The Roger Williams Law Alumni Association (LAA) held its annual meeting in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the RI Bar Association. The event offered an opportunity to salute the RWU Law graduates who serve in the Rhode Island Legislature: Senators Daniel P. Connors ’02 and Christopher Maselli ’99, and Rhode Island House of Representatives Robert B. Jacquard ’98, Peter F. Kilmartin ’98, and J. Patrick O’Neill ’98.

Daniel is the Senate Majority Leader, representing Cumberland and Lincoln since he was elected in 1996.

Christopher was elected in 2006, and is currently the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Rules, Secretary of the Senate Committee on Judiciary and member of the Senate Committee on Education, representing Johnston.

Robert has represented Cranston since 1992 and is Secretary of the House Committee on Veteran’s Affairs and a member of the House Committee on Constituent Services and Finance.

Peter represents Pawtucket, and is the House Majority Whip, while serving on the House Committee in Corporations, Labor Rules and Highway Safety. He is the longest serving of the group, as he was elected in November 1990.

Finally, Patrick also hails from Pawtucket. He is the Deputy Majority Leader, Vice Chairmen of the House Committee on Judiciary, and a member of House Committee on Rules. He was first elected in 2004.

The event also highlighted the LAA’s accomplishments over the past year and was the occasion to announce the Executive Committee for 2009-2010: President Margreta Vellucci ’07; Vice President Nicole Dulude ’06; Secretary Neville Bedford ’03; and Treasurer Kim Grabarz ‘02.

At the conclusion of the event, Margreta and I had the distinct pleasure of awarding the 2009 LAA Scholarships to two outstanding students who displayed academic excellence in their first year, Rebecca Carey and Jacqueline Rolleri.

Congratulations to all the honorees!