About the Blogger

Legal Beagle's picture

The Legal Beagle’s favorite book and that of dog lovers everywhere is Every Dog’s Legal Guide: A Must Have Book for Your Owner by Mary Randolph (KF390.5 .D6 R36 2005). His favorite movie is about the crime fighting pooch, Underdog! His current hero is Uno, the beagle who won Best in Show at the...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

Legal Beagle's Post

Best Brief Winners and HeinOnline!

Posted by Library Blog on 04/08/2011 at 12:00 AM

The Law Library staff congratulates 3Ls Amy Broderick, Robert Cavanagh, and John Meara for receiving the Harrison Tweed Award for the best brief at the National Moot Court Competition. In addition to writing the best brief in the nation, the team also advanced to the round of eight! The team wrote for the respondent in the case of The City of New Amsterdam v. New Amsterdam Business Leader’s Association.

The winners took advantage of the Law Library’s offerings of LexisNexis/Westlaw access, quiet study areas, and books to research the issues for their brief.

Here are the questions presented from their brief:

1. Whether a court should apply the serious questions. standard to motions for preliminary injunctions when the record does not permit the court to determine with certainty that the movant is more likely than not to prevail on the merits of the underlying claim?

2. Whether the Healthy New Amsterdam Program, which mandates minimum employee healthcare spending requirements for certain employers in New Amsterdam, is preempted by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 given that the purpose of ERISA is to provide a national, uniform, regulatory regime over employee benefits plans?

Their winning brief will live on via the Law Library’s subscription database HeinOnline! HeinOnline’s National Moot Court Competition library contains the national moot court participants’ briefs. The briefs are available from 1950 to 2010 with 2011 competition briefs being added in the near future!

For more details about the competition and photos of the winners, check out the Dean’s Blog!