About the Blogger

David Logan's picture

David Logan served as Dean at Roger Williams School of Law from 2003 to 2014, making him one of the nation's longest-serving law deans. In 2014, he returned to full-time teaching and research.

A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, Professor Logan clerked for a federal...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

David Logan's Post

More National Recognition of the Excellence of RWU Law’s Public Interest Programs

Posted by David Logan on 01/20/2010 at 12:00 AM

The Association of American Law Schools is the by-invitation-only organization for the best law schools in the country, and I am pleased to report that at the organization’s 2010 Annual Meeting, Roger Williams was recognized for its excellent and innovative public interest programs (already ranked by National Jurist Magazine #2 in New England).

The AALS Section on Pro Bono and Public Service Opportunities awarded the prestigious Deborah Rhode Award to Dean David Logan. The award was based upon a range of programmatic accomplishments in recent years, including securing funding for the innovative Pro Bono Collaborative, which links RI’s largest law firms, RWU law students, and community organizations, to provide much needed free legal representation.  Other accomplishments include the creation and funding of a robust Loan Forgiveness Program, the availability of scholarships for students displaying commitment to public service, and the launch of the Latino Policy Institute and Immigration Law Clinic. Read the citation from the AALS and the nomination speech (given by my colleague Liz Tobin Tyler, the Director of Public Service and Community Partnerships at RWU). 

Following are some pictures from the post-ceremony oysterfest that drew representatives from a host of law schools from around the country.

AALS Awards photos
Dean Logan, past Rhode Award Winner Phil Schrag (Georgetown) and
Drinan Award winner Fred Rooney (CUNY)

AALS Awards photos

RWU Law folks (+1): Lydia Hanhardt, David Zlotnick,
David Logan, Liz Tobin Tyler, Lorraine Lalli,
Phil Schrag, Gail Winson


Wake Forest Law folks (current and former): Caroline Eliot, Esq.,
Jeanne Wine, Esq., Prof. Suzanne Reynolds (Wake Forest),
Dean David Logan, Prof. Mary Davis (Kentucky), Julie Sandine, Esq. (Vanderbilt), Prof. Mike Gerhardt (UNC)


Front: Phil Schrag (Georgetown), Mike Gerhardt (UNC),
Steve Kropp (RWU), Deborah Gerhardt (UNC), Lisa Lerman (Catholic),
Gail Winson (RWU), Suzanne Reynolds (Wake Forest),
Anne Acton (New England), Monica Teixeira de Sousa (New England).
Back: Eric Janus (William Mitchell), Adam Winkler (UCLA),
Bruce Green (Fordham),Peter Margulies (RWU), Jeff Brown
(Northern Illinois), Dean David Logan, Wayne Logan (Florida State),
David Zlotnick (RWU), Diana Hassel (RWU), Terrill Pollman (UNLV),
Mary Davis (Kentucky).