About the Blogger

David Logan's picture

David Logan served as Dean at Roger Williams School of Law from 2003 to 2014, making him one of the nation's longest-serving law deans. In 2014, he returned to full-time teaching and research.

A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, Professor Logan clerked for a federal...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

David Logan's Post

Recognizing Excellence in Public Service

Posted by David Logan on 06/04/2013 at 01:18 PM

The Feinstein Institute recently held its annual reception celebrating the public service commitment of our graduating students and thanking the legal community for mentoring our students in public interest law. The reception was generously supported by the Feinstein Foundation.

Judges, lawyers and community partners as well as graduating students, faculty and staff attended the event at the Marriott Courtyard in Providence.  Luis Mancheno and Zahrah Taylor were honored for their exemplary commitment to public service and Nels Schnobrich received the Pro Bono Collaborative Award for his excellent work on PBC projects.

Tracy Harper received the Clinical Legal Education Association Award for her exceptional work in the Immigration Clinic, and Erica Janton was the 2013 recipient of the Kathy M. Birt Memorial Conflict Resolution Award for her outstanding work in the Mediation Clinic.

We also had two graduating students honored this spring by outside organizations. Lipou Laliemthavisay received the student award from the Massachusetts Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild for her tireless work on behalf of immigrants and indigent clients.  Gregory Abilheira received the 2013 Association of Corporate Counsel Northeast Chapter Law Student Ethics Award, an award given to a student for his commitment to high ethical standards.

Congratulations to these terrific 3Ls!

From left to right, front row – Tracy Harper, Erica Janton, Lipou Laliemthavisay

From left to right, back row – Gregory Abilheira, Zahrah Taylor, Luis Mancheno

  and Nels Schnobrich

Lipou Laliemthavisay

Jim Peck, Ethics Chair, Gregory Abilheira and Kathleen Burke, Chapter President