About the Blogger

David Logan's picture

David Logan served as Dean at Roger Williams School of Law from 2003 to 2014, making him one of the nation's longest-serving law deans. In 2014, he returned to full-time teaching and research.

A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, Professor Logan clerked for a federal...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

David Logan's Post

RWU Alums Sworn in to the U.S. Supreme Court Bar

Posted by David Logan on 03/23/2010 at 12:00 AM

On Tuesday, February 23, the Roger Williams University School of Law conducted its second United States Supreme Court swearing-in ceremony.

A dozen grads from our earliest years (an applicant must have been admitted to practice for a period of at least three years in order to qualify) had a remarkable experience.  A number of them got together the night before at a reception hosted by the D.C. Chapter of our Law Alumni Association, and had a chance to catch up with some of their many classmates who are working in the area, as well as chatting with U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse, who dropped by.

The next morning, we gathered at the Court; the dozen RWU lawyers, Prof. Jared Goldstein and me, plus friends, spouses, kids, and proud parents who made the trip.  RWU Law Professor Peter Margulies was also in attendance because he co-authored an amicus curiae brief in Holder v. Humanitarian Law Project, an important case balancing free speech rights with the war on terror that was set for argument, so he gave the group an insider’s take on the issues.

After breakfast and a visit by the always-entertaining Clerk of the Court William Suter in the West Conference Room, we were escorted into the Courtroom, with the RWU dozen seated in front of the bar, only a few feet from the Justices (and fortunately all the rest of the RWU folks found seats in the visitor section).  After calling the Court session to order, Chief Justice Roberts asked Prof. Goldstein to come to the podium and make the formal motion to admit.  After repeating the oath, Raymond J. Angell III ’00, Sheila D. Conway ‘00, Ann M. Corriveau ’01, Martin J. Cosgrove, Jr. ’97, James D. Donegan ’96, John B. Garry ’00, Stephen P. Maguire ’96, Walter J. Manning ‘99, Kerri M. Morey ’00, Matthew D. Slepkow ’97, Erik B. Wallin ‘97, Karissa L. Wallin ’98 and became members of the Bar to the highest court in the land. 

Congratulations on this amazing professional experience!


photo of alums sworn in

From Left:  Sheila D. Conway ‘00, Walter J. Manning ‘99, John B. Garry ‘00, Stephen P. Maguire ‘96, Karissa L. Wallin ‘98, Erik B. Wallin ‘97, Ann M. Corriveau ‘01, Raymond J. Angell III ‘00, Matthew D. Slepkow ‘97, James D. Donegan ‘96, Martin J. Cosgrove, Jr. ’97, Kerri M. Morey ’00