About the Blogger

David Logan's picture

David Logan served as Dean at Roger Williams School of Law from 2003 to 2014, making him one of the nation's longest-serving law deans. In 2014, he returned to full-time teaching and research.

A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, Professor Logan clerked for a federal...

Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

David Logan's Post

RWU Law Again Hosts Diversity Symposium Dinner

Posted by David Logan on 05/03/2013 at 04:23 PM

It is hard to believe that ten years have passed since our first Diversity Symposium Dinner, held during my first year as Dean, but it proves to the larger community that we are committed to diversifying the bench and bar.  It has been deeply rewarding to see the large number of attendees at this signature event, especially our alums as they make their mark in the profession.  Among our guests this year were state and federal judges, the Providence City Solicitor, and the Legal Counsel to the Governor, as well as students from local colleges, universities, high schools and, of course, RWU Law.

As a key part of our diversity outreach efforts, this year’s Diversity Symposium Dinner was the first time we had the privilege of having four high school students from the Rhode Island Urban Debate League and the Greater Providence YMCA’s Championing Our Students program display their debating skills on the contentious issue of whether the Civil Rights Act of 1965 remains relevant in 2013.  (Here is an earlier blog of mine on the topic http://law.rwu.edu/blog/bloody-sunday%E2%80%9D-remembered-crossing-bridge-rep-john-lewis-vp-joe-biden-and-ag-eric-holder). The youngsters were remarkably poised considering that they were debating in front of what might have been an intimidating group! 

Once again, this event was co-hosted with the Multi-Cultural Law Students Association and the Thurgood Marshall Law Society (“TMLS”) of Rhode Island, and co-sponsored by the Law School Admission Council.  A special shout out to TMLS President and RWU Law Advisory Board Member, Kas DeCarvalho, who moderated for the second year, and to our panelists, Professor Diana Hassel, Alberto Aponte Cardona ’04, Kim Ahern ’08, and Lt. Tunde Adepegba ’14.

Below are some pictures from the fun evening.