Affordable Excellence at RWU LAW

All Blog Posts

Posted by David Logan
07/23/2012 at 09:50 AM
I am delighted to announce that the University has granted tenure to two of our outstanding junior faculty, John Chung and Keeva Terry. Both have impeccable academic credentials (John-Wash U and Harvard; Keeva-Harvard, Michigan, and Columbia) and in just a few years they began winning “Teacher of the Year Awards” from a student body who already were learning from excellent teachers. More good news: Emily Sack will serve as our Distinguished Research Professor for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 academic years. Emily is a nationally-recognized expert in domestic violence issues, who has published...
Posted by David Logan
06/06/2012 at 12:44 PM
After the processional, the grads, faculty, staff, families, and friends settled in for a brisk, but meaningful ceremony. The crowd applauded the newly tenured members of the faculty (John Chung and Keeva Terry), the Teachers of the Year (John Chung and John Grasso), the Support Staff Person of the Year (Manny Tavares), and the award of a Distinguished Service Award to retiring Assistant Dean of Career Services Tony Bastone.  The audience heard from the Dean and the University President before the hooding of the two winners of Honorary Degrees, Maureen McKenna Goldberg, Associate Justice...
Posted by David Logan
12/01/2011 at 09:39 AM
For over a decade now, we have offered our students a unique option for summer studies: our Program in London, run by English Barrister Robert Webster, is a unique opportunity for experiential learning which places our students in the chambers of leading barristers and judges. Last year we offered options to study in China and Argentina, as part of a consortium headed by Stetson Law School.  Now I am delighted to announce that we are expanding further: RWU Law students now can opt into classes in The Hague (Netherlands) and Lausannne (Switzerland).  These new possibilities are...
Posted by David Logan
10/10/2011 at 08:00 AM
In a dominating performance, a team of 1Ls - Brendan Schlander, Michael da Cruz, Nick Denice, Marc Fialkoff, James Glisson, and Samantha Clarke - cruised to victory over teams representing the 2L class, the 3L class, and the faculty in the 7th Annual Student/Faculty Jeopardy Game last week.  Despite the return to action of faculty Jeopardy stalwarts John Chung and Richard Rose (plus the efforts of teammates Tanya Monestier, Larry Ritchie, Andy Horwitz, and Linn Freedman) the 1L team took an early lead and cruised to an easy victory by more than $10,000. The 1L team was urged on by almost...