Departments, Offices & Resources

LAW LIBRARY

Circulation Desk
(401) 254-4546
lawlibraryhelp@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF BUSINESS AFFAIRS

Joanne Fernandes
(401) 254-4550
jfernandes@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF THE DEAN

Main Desk
(401) 254-4500
jrdallaire@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

Main Desk
(401) 254-4555
admissions@law.rwu.edu

OFFICE OF DIVERSITY & OUTREACH

Ralph E. Tavares, Jr.
(401) 254-4522
rtavares@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF CAREER DEVELOPMENT

Main Desk
(401) 254-4650
lawcareers@rwu.edu

MARINE AFFAIRS INSTITUTE

Erin Gallagher
(401) 254-5392
egallagher@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF PROGRAMS & EVENTS

Main Desk
(401) 254-4659
jgovednik@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF STUDENT FINANCE & RECORDS

Ann Marie Thompson
(401) 254-4682
athompson@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF FACULTY SERVICES

Heather Bernier
(401) 254-4625
hbernier@rwu.edu

OFFICE OF FINANCIAL AID

Kathryn Politano
(401) 254-4641
kpolitano@rwu.edu

ACADEMIC SUCCESS PROGRAM

Kathryn Thompson
(401) 254-4568
kthompson@rwu.edu

Close Course Type Descriptions

Course Types

We have classified RWU Law classes under the following headers. One of the following course types will be attached to each course which will allow students to narrow down their search while looking for classes.

Core Course

Students in the first and second year are required to take classes covering the following aspects of the law—contracts, torts, property, criminal law, civil procedure, and constitutional law, evidence, and professional responsibility.  Along with these aspects, the core curriculum will develop legal reasoning skills.

Elective

After finishing the core curriculum the remaining coursework toward the degree is completed through upper level elective courses.  Students can choose courses that peak their interests or courses that go along with the track they are following.

Seminar

Seminars are classes where teachers and small groups of students focus on a specific topic and the students complete a substantial research paper.

Clinics/Externships

Inhouse Clinics and Clinical Externships legal education is law school training in which students participate in client representation under the supervision of a practicing attorney or law professor.  RWU Law's Clinical Programs offer unique and effective learning opportunities and the opportunity for practical experience while still in law school.